top of page
  • boozysarah14

Dead Blood City - Excerpt

Lately, I have been very use with revising, and actually still am because I have exams coming soon! CRI. I know.

So I thought to share with you all an excerpt of a book I can't wait to read:


Excerpt from Chapter 12: When Bones Rise. 


Sunlight warmed my body and the briny sea air prickled my nose. A calling dragged at my breastbone. It turned me down a narrow alley banked by condos of red brick and cream trim. I sprinted down the alleyway, afraid to lose the scent. The buildings caging me in were barren and hollow, strange for this part of town. There were no signs of life in the shaded windows or empty balconies. 


That was when I saw her. Her russet eyes met mine, large as a hunted doe, corneas clouded by death. Time slowed and my body went numb. Ringlets formed a halo around her tawny face.

Her body was bloody and bare as Lilith driven from Eden. “Clara?”

Startling, she ran for the building at the end of the alley. Dark coils floated after her like mist on the water.

 

“Clara! Wait!”


She was fast for a dead woman. Clara threw open the front door and bolted inside. I raced after her, tripping over a chair she knocked into my path. My knees hit the ground hard. 

She was gone in the time it took me to stand. 

I drew my weapon, inching into the unlit condo. The place was a wreck. Curtains and

newspaper blocked the summer sun from entering through the arched windows. The furniture looked like it’d been thrown around by a tornado. It smelled like blood and piss. 


What the fuck had happened in here? And how had nobody noticed?


I tried to move silently but even my soft steps were audible on the hardwood flooring. I was in the neglected kitchen, dust and dried blood covering the granite counters, when I heard a creaking floorboard overhead. My head tilted toward the ceiling and I heard it again. I turned back into the entryway, making my way upstairs. 


The second floor had fared no better than the rest of the condo. Blood was smeared across the walls and one of the bedroom doors had been torn off the hinges. Splinters of wood jutted out of the doorframe. I crept toward the master, training my weapon on the door. 


After a brief internal debate, I called out to her again. “Clara! I just want to talk.”

The door screeched open and, against my better judgment, I shouldered my way into the room. 


The state of the bedroom shocked me to stillness.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page