top of page
  • boozysarah14

How to get Advanced Reader's Copies of Books:


My first ever ARC copy

When I first started bookstagram and my blog, I barely knew what ARCs (advanced reader's copies) were! When I finally learnt what it meant, I was always wondering how to get an ARC? How could I request an ARC whether from a publisher or any other way.


One of the best reader experiences, in my perspective, was when I received my first ARC! Social media, as we know, is a power tool for everyone, especially publishers, to market upcoming releases.

ARCs are provided to book reviewers to promote and market a book ahead of its release, playing a key role on how the book develops in the bookish industry amongst readers.


If you are wondering how to get an ARC, then this is the right place for you to be! Keep scrolling to find the different ways in which you could get ARCs!


E-Galleys:

The Netgalley Front page

An E-galley is an electronic copy of an arc that you can read on your laptop, iPad or your kindle!


I find that the perfect place to request e-galley's is Netgalley Netgalley is a site that many publishers use, ranging from Penguin, Macmillan, Hodder and also smaller publishers! Netgalley also offers a wide range of genres from Fantasy & Sci-fi, to Young Adult, to Non-fiction and more!


To use Netgalley, you would have to create your own reviewer profile. Once you have done that, you can request as many books as you like, however, you must write a book review in return!


On Netgalley, you can also access a wide range of formats from Pub to pdf and you can even send an e-galley directly to your kindle!



 

Requesting ARCs from Publishers:


Whilst it is much harder to request ARCs from publishers, you can most certainly try your luck!

When I first started bookstagram with as little as 200 followers, I send my first ARC request. Then I sent many after - many got rejected and unanswered - and surprisingly I got one ARC in the mail!

That was honestly one of the most exciting times of my life!!


To request ARCs from publishers, I would suggest going onto the publishers website. Usually, they have a section in their contact page in which they present their marketing email where you can send an ARC request!


If you don't know how to format an email, worry not! I'll show you what format I use. I really do hope it helps to give you an idea on what to write!



 

Dear (publisher name),

My name is (your name).

I'm writing in regards to an upcoming book that I would be interested in reviewing early on my (eg. blog / instagram / Goodreads)


  • Book Name and Author


I would love to review this book because.. (write why you want an ARC)

I would love to read this book in advance and review it on... (eg. blog / instagram / goodreads)


Social pages:

*Here you should link any sites you have.. for example:

Blog Link :

Goodreads :

Instagram :


Shipping Adress:

*I prefer to add in my shipping adress just in case they do send me an ARC

Contact Information:

*Always provide your contact details.. so they can contact you!

Email:


Best,

(Your Full Name)



 


Book Tour Programs:


Another great way to receive ARCs is through Book tour programs! There are many great book tour companies where you can sign-up to become a host!

If you are a bookstagrammer then this is the best way to get an ARC because you can post a creative post on your instagram and write a review as well!


Here are some Book Tour Companies that you can sign up to be a host in:






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page